What is Kosher | What County

What is Kosher

Among other things, Kosher has to do with food. Life is sacred, says the Torah. And it not only tells us to take care of people, but also that we should treat animals and plants with care. Therefore, there are rules in the Torah that help us in this.

What is Kosher
What is Kosher
Kosher
Kosher

Do you know what you’re eating? For example, is it important to you that the animal you eat has been kept in a species-appropriate manner? Was it really healthy at the time of slaughter and how was it slaughtered? What is allowed to be eaten according to the rules of the Torah is called kosher, what is not allowed to be eaten is called trefe.

The Torah explains which animals are kosher and which are not. Kosher mammals chew again and have split hooves, like sheep or cows. Pigs are not ruminants and therefore not kosher. Animals that live in water must have fins and scales in order to be allowed to eat. This makes it clear that shrimps, shrimps and squid are not fish in the real sense and are just as little kosher as the eel, which has lost its fins in evolution.

Kosher – what is it? The text of this page is also available as an info sheet for download
Download (PDF / 0.44 MB / in German / barrier-free)
Another rule is related to the consumption of milk and meat. The Torah says that the goat should not be boiled in the mother’s milk. For a long time the sages thought about what this could mean and finally agreed that milk and meat should not be prepared and eaten together. That’s why you won’t find sliced veal in cream sauce or a cheeseburger on the dining table of a religious family. Foods that are neither milky nor fleshy are called neutral (parve). These are, for example, fruits and vegetables.

Definition of terms
Believing Jews are guided in their lives by the rules that are given to them in the Torah, the holy book of Judaism. Of great importance are the Jewish dietary regulations (“kashrut”). Everything that is allowed to be eaten according to the rules of the Torah is called “kosher” (in German “suitable” or “approved”). What is not allowed to be eaten is called “trefe” or “treife”.

Kosher food
Among the dishes that are kosher are cows and sheep, and also certain types of poultry. Some animals, including pigs, are not kosher. Another rule says that milk and meat should not be prepared and eaten together. That’s why religious families, for example, do not eat cheeseburgers or veal cutlets in cream sauce. Foods that are neither milky nor fleshy are called neutral (parve). These are, for example, fruits, vegetables and cereals. They can always be eaten. Certain regulations also apply to the slaughter of animals. In Germany, it is generally forbidden to kill animals without anesthesia. Exemptions may be granted for religious reasons.

Gummy
Most gummy bears are made with gelatin from pork. There are different answers in the Jewish faith as to whether this is kosher. Many Jewish scholars are of the opinion that in the production of gelatin, the bones and rind of pigs are changed in such a way that its consumption is safe.

Idiom
Sometimes you can hear the phrase “This is not quite kosher”. This means that one thing does not seem quite right to us.

Also in other religions
There are rules for eating in many religions. Most of the time, this has reasons that go back a long time in history. For Muslims, the Koran and the Sunnah, the holy scriptures of Islam, define what is “halal”, i.e. permissible. As in Judaism, pork is not one of the permitted foods, it is not halal. Hindus do not eat beef, because for them cows are sacred. True, in Christianity there are no prohibitions on food. But the custom of fasting in the period before Easter or the habit of many Christians to eat only fish on Fridays show that there are also traditions in this religion that deal with food.

What makes something kosher?
What is kosher food rules?
What does kosher mean in simple terms?
What can kosher not eat?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *