What County is Salem Oregon in | What County

What County is Salem Oregon in

Salem is the name of the capital since 1855 of the state of Oregon in the United States. It is also the county seat of Marion County. Salem is one of the oldest cities in Oregon. The name of the city derives from the Hebrew word “shalom”, which means “peace”. Salem has been the capital of Oregon since 1851, with the exception of a few months in 1855, when it moved to Corvallis. The population of Salem is approximately 150,000 in 2000. The largest source of employment in Salem is the State administration, but it is also a prominent agricultural food processing center.

The small town of Salem is famous in the world for the trials that dozens of women suffered that in the late seventeenth century under the charge of witchcraft.

What County is Salem Oregon in
What County is Salem Oregon in

But what not many know is that it was also one of the most important areas of trade with Europe after the arrival of the English to the American continent.

Oregon (pronounced [óregon] in English) is one of the states that form part of the United States of America, it is located in the northwest, on the coast of the Pacific Ocean.

Its capital is Salem and its most populous city, Portland.

How many counties are in Salem Oregon?
What cities are part of Marion County?
Is Salem in Linn County?
What is Marion County?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *